PortalParts.com Site

 Forum Index > Geeklog > FAQ Manager Plugin New Topic Post Reply
 FAQman and Security
 |  Printable Version
Anonymous: alex
 May 29 2003 15:43 PM (Read 7511 times)  


Hi Blaine, I'd like the FAQ manager to be not accessible to anon users. Is this possible? Something along the lines of - I'm sorry you have to be logged in to access this feature...


Thanks, Alex Kerin


 
Quote
Blaine
 May 29 2003 16:30 PM  
Forum Admin
Admin

Status: offline

Registered: 03/01/02
Posts: 3576

You can add the logic easily to the function plugin_getmenuitems_faqman() in the plugins/faqman/functions.inc file. This function is responsible for generating the link in the header.


New code would be:

PHP Formatted Code
if (SEC_hasRights('faqman.user')) {
    $menuitems[$LANG_FAQ['headerlabel']] ="{$_CONF['site_url']}/faqman/index.php";
}
return $menuitems;

You should also add similar check to the public_html/faqman/index.php to check if the user has access.


Add your users to a group that has the faqman.user right and that should work.


Please consider contributing to support my efforts ..
 
Profile Email Website PM
Quote
geKow
 July 08 2003 18:36 PM  
Forum Senior
Senior

Status: offline

Registered: 06/08/03
Posts: 31

Quote by Blaine: ...
You should also add similar check to the public_html/faqman/index.php to check if the user has access.


Add your users to a group that has the faqman.user right and that should work.



Could you explain that idiot- (me) proof?

thx, geKow


 
Profile Email Website PM
Quote
geKow
 July 09 2003 08:27 AM  
Forum Senior
Senior

Status: offline

Registered: 06/08/03
Posts: 31

:D Ok, I\'ve got it.
(yes, someone helped me ;) )


 
Profile Email Website PM
Quote
empirical
 July 23 2004 14:40 PM  
Forum Newbie
Newbie


Status: offline

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 2

Quote by Blaine: You can add the logic easily to the function plugin_getmenuitems_faqman() in the plugins/faqman/functions.inc file. This function is responsible for generating the link in the header.....

....You should also add similar check to the public_html/faqman/index.php to check if the user has access.

Add your users to a group that has the faqman.user right and that should work.


Blaine, I understand the addition to the functions.ini file and the user group assignment for faqman.user. If it's not too much trouble, could you explain the code that constitutes the "similar check to the .../index.php" file? Thanks!


 
Profile Email PM
Quote
Content generated in: 0.20 seconds
New Topic Post Reply



 All times are CDT. The time is now 04:51 AM.
Normal Topic Normal Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Anonymous users can post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content